App-A-Week Challenge, Week 5

Hey folks. I know you’re all just on the edge of your seats waiting to find out what’s in store for this week. Here’s what’s going on:

The music/pitch app I was working on will need more work. I thought I had a good implementation of the “zero-crossing” pitch detection algorithm but, while it works great for strong, coherent pitches (like pure sine waves, voice, etc.) it fails spectacularly for stringed instruments (which is what the app is made for.)

So, that means I’ll have to take more time and figure out how to implement pitch detection using vDSP FFTs. That’ll take some time.

In the mean time, I’ve decided to do the following:

1) I’m going to remove iAds from my free apps. I added iAds to see if it would be a nice way to add some extra income for silly, low volume apps and it turns out that it’s not making any money at all. And I hate ads.

2) I’m going to add a Tier-1 “in-app purchase” option for the MD5 Calculator. It won’t change the functionality, it will merely provide an opportunity for anyone who likes the app to throw some money my way.

There are other apps in the works. This isn’t a super exciting week, but hey. They can’t all be.

Leave a Reply

